Welcome to Maribor


Brief information about the Maribor

Maribor Maribor (UK: MARR-ib-or, US: MAR-, Slovene: [ˈmáːɾibɔɾ]; also referred to by other historical names) is your second-largest city in Slovenia and the largest city of the traditional region of Lower Styria. It's also the seat of the Drava region, the seat of the City Municipality of Maribor and the Eastern Slovenia region.

Maribor is also the administrative, economical, educational and cultural center of Slovenia. Maribor was mentioned as a castle in 1164, as a settlement in 1209 and as a city in 1254. As most of all lands, Maribor was under Habsburg rule when Rudolf Maister along with his men procured the city to the State of Serbs, Croats and Slovenes, which was renamed to Yugoslavia.

In 1991 Maribor became part of independent Slovenia. Maribor, Together with the Portuguese city of Guimarães, was selected that the European Capital of Culture.

Maribor Attractions

  • 4.20 (65)

  • 3.70 (86)

  • 3.80 (17)

  • 4.30 (31)

  • 4.50 (11)

  • 3.90 (49)

  • 4.60 (1252)

  • 4.20 (93)