Welcome to Ostrava


Brief information about the Ostrava

Ostrava Ostrava (Czech pronunciation: [ˈostrava], locally: [oˈstrava]; Polish: Ostrawa,'' German: Ostrau) is a Town at the north-east of the Czech Republic, and the capital of This Moravian-Silesian Region. It is 15 km (9 mi) from the boundary with Poland, in the meeting point of four rivers: the Odra, Opava, Ostravice and Lučina.

In terms of both population and area Ostrava is the second biggest city in Moravia, the third biggest city in the Czech Republic, and the greatest city in Czech Silesia. It straddles the boundary of the two historical states of Silesia and Moravia. The population is almost 300,000 people.

The broader conurbation - which also includes the cities of Bohumín, Doubrava, Havířov, Karviná, Orlová, Petřvald and Rychvald - is home to approximately 500,000 people, making it the biggest urban area in the Czech Republic besides the capital, Prague. Ostrava grew in significance as a result of its position in the heart of a coalfield, getting an important industrial centre.

It was formerly referred to as the nation 's "steel heart" thanks to its own standing as a coal-mining and metallurgical centre, but because the Velvet Revolution (the fall of communism in 1989) it has undergone radical and far-reaching changes to its economic foundation. Industries have been restructured, and the coal was mined from town in 1994.

Remnants of the industrial past of town are observable in a former coal-mining, the area, coke production and ironworks complicated.

Ostrava is home to different cultural centers such as galleries and theatres. Various cultural and sporting events occur in Ostrava throughout the entire year, such as the Colours of Ostrava music festival, the Janáček May classical music festival, the Summer Shakespeare Festival and NATO Days.

Ostrava is currently home to two public colleges: the VŠB-Technical University and the University of Ostrava. Back in 2014 Ostrava was a European City of Sport. The city co-hosted (with Prague) the IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship in 2004 and 2015.