Welcome to Sofia


Brief information about the Sofia

Sofia Sofia (SOH-fee-ə, SOF-; Bulgarian: София, romanized: Sofiya, IPA: [ˈsɔfijɐ] ) is the capital and biggest city of Bulgaria. The city is at the foot of the Vitosha mountain in the western part of the country. Being at the centre of the Balkans, it is between the Black Sea and the Adriatic Sea, and closest to the Aegean Sea.

The city is surrounded by hills, such as Mount Vitosha by the southern side, Lyulin by the western side, and the Balkan Mountains by the north, which makes it the highest European capital following Madrid.

The city is built on the Iskar river also contains many mineral springs, like the Sofia Central Mineral Baths. Sofia has a humid continental climate. Sofia has been described as the 'triangle of tolerance'. This is a result of the fact that three colossal temples of the three world religions - Judaism, Islam and Christianity, reside in town, which are Banya Bashi Mosque, the Sveta Nedelya Church and Sofia Synagogue's borders.

Being the primate city of Bulgaria , Sofia is the home of lots of the major universities, cultural institutions and companies. Sofia is among the ten areas for start-up businesses on the planet, especially in information technology. Sofia has been the most affordable capital to visit in 2013 of Europe .

Back in 1979, the Boyana Church in Sofia was included on the World Heritage List, and it was deconstructed at the Bulgarian Empire, holding a Great Deal of heritage to the Bulgarian Orthodox Church. To Ballet of Bulgaria and the National Opera, Sofia is home with its cultural significance in Eastern Europe, the National Palace of Culture, the Vasil Levski National Stadium, the Ivan Vazov National Theatre, the National Archaeological Museum, along with also the Serdica Amphitheatre.

The Museum of Socialist Art includes a whole lot of paintings and sculptures which teach individuals about the lifestyle in Bulgaria. The population of Sofia fell down to 11,649, through 19,000 in 1870, from 70,000 in the 18th century in 1878 and began increasing.

The urban region of Sofia hosts some 1.54 million residents within 5723 km², which comprises Sofia City Province and parts of Sofia Province (Dragoman, Slivnitsa, Kostinbrod, Bozhurishte, Svoge, Elin Pelin, Gorna Malina, Ihtiman, Kostenets) and also Pernik Province (Pernik, Radomir), representing 5.16% of the country territory. Sofia's region relies upon a single hour of automobile travel time, stretches globally and includes Dimitrovgrad in Serbia.

Unlike many European metropolitan areas, it is not to be defined as a much functional metropolitan region however is of the type with "limited assortment of functions". The metropolitan area of Sofia is occupied by a population of 1.68 million and is made up of the whole province's Sofia City, Sofia and Pernik, comprising more than 10,000 km².