Welcome to Brugge


Brief information about the Brugge

Bruges Bruges (BROOZH, French: [bʁyʒ]; Flemish: Brugge [ˈbrʏɣə]; German: Brügge [ˈbʁʏɡə]) is the capital and biggest city of the state of West Flanders from the Flemish Region of Belgium, at the northwest of the nation, along with the seventh biggest city of the nation by population.

The region of the entire city amounts to greater than 13,840 hectares (138.4 km2; 53.44 sq kilometers ), such as 1,075 hectares from the shore, in Zeebrugge (from Brugge aan zee, meaning "Bruges from the Sea"). The city centre is a World Heritage Site of UNESCO.

It is oval in approximately 430 hectares in size and shape. The city's total population is 117,073 (1 January 2008), of whom around 20,000 reside in the city centre. The metropolitan region, including the outer commuter zone, covers an area of 616 km2 (238 sq mi) and contains a total of 255,844 inhabitants as of 1 January 2008.

Together with a few other towns, such as Amsterdam and St Petersburg, it's occasionally known as the Venice of the North. Bruges has a substantial significance and was once one of the world's chief towns.

Bruges is known as the chair of the College of Europe, a university institute for European research.