Welcome to La Plata


Brief information about the La Plata

La Plata La Plata (Spanish pronunciation: [la ˈplata]) is the capital city of Buenos Aires Province, Argentina. According to the 2010 census [INDEC], it has a population of 765,378 and its metropolitan area contains 899,523 inhabitants. Following the city of Buenos Aires was federalized in 1880, la Plata designed and was intended to function as the funding.

It was set up by Governor Dardo Rocha on 19 November 1882. Its construction is documented in photographs by Tomás Bradley Sutton. La Plata was temporarily known as Ciudad Eva Perón (Eva Perón City) between 1952 and 1955. The city is home to two first division football teams that are important: Estudiantes de La Plata and Gimnasia y Esgrima La Plata.

La Plata Attractions